top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturethe veggie sisters

Healthy Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

Updated: Aug 29, 2019

Hello all!


I have been binge-watching more seasons of the Great British Baking Show recently. If you have never watched the show, I would highly recommend it. Not only do the bakers make incredible desserts, but they are so friendly towards their competitors. People are scrambling at the last minute to help another baker finish their creation, and they are legitimately sad to see their fellow bakers leave the show. And if you follow the bakers on social media, you would find that many of the bakers hang-out even years after the show ends! I would love to join the show, if only I were British and a good baker.


The only downfall of watching the show is that I crave dessert basically every episode. I wanted to make something a bit healthier that still satisfied my dessert craving. As I have likely said before, I love chocolate and peanut butter, so I decided to create a recipe that involved both of these ingredients, but give it a healthy spin. And this is how I got the idea to make muffins.


I think muffins are a great sweet snack to incorporate healthy ingredients in. I also like to make mini muffins because then I can eat more or fewer muffins depending on how hungry I am. These muffins are also super easy to make! You start by mixing almost all the ingredients with an electric mixer (and all in one bowl, for easier dishwashing at the end).

After you mix the batter, you pour it into a greased muffin tin. I think the best way to transfer the batter from the bowl to the tin is by using a cookie dough scoop. It allows you to get the batter more evenly distributed throughout the tin, and can help prevent some of the mess that comes with pouring the batter directly from the bowl. After the batter is in the muffin tins, I sprinkled chocolate chips into each tin. You could mix the chocolate chips in the bowl (by hand, not with the electric mixer), but the chocolate chips may sink to the bottom and not be evenly distributed among the muffins.

The muffins bake for about 15 minutes in the oven, until the tops are golden and a toothpick comes out mostly clean of the center of a muffin. The muffins are a bit dense, like banana bread. They were a wonderful treat to eat during my binge-watching, and they satisfied my craving for sweets. I would call these muffins a success!



Do you have a go-to healthy treat for when you are craving dessert? Or any good show recommendations to binge-watch? Let us know in the comments below!


Have a wonderful week!


27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page