top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturethe veggie sisters

Acai Bowls at Home!

Hello veggie fans! Long time, no talk. I apologize for the large gap in postings on the blog and on our Instagram, but I have been in a sort of creative rut for the past few weeks. Today, however, I decided to pull myself out of that rut and bring you all this delicious acai bowl recipe. Acai bowls are a treat that I very much enjoy, but just can't justify buying all that often due to their high price tag at local shops. With that being said, I also never thought it was possible to make these at home. But boy, was I wrong!

What inspired this recipe was this little package I spotted the last time I was meandering around my local Trader Joe's--frozen acai packets! At a little over $1 per each packet, this alternative is far cheaper than buying a bowl out to eat. And this way, you get to be creative with it and feel accomplished that the food you are eating was handcrafted by YOU!


Homemade Acai Bowl (for 1)

Ingredients

1 TJ's Acai Puree Packet

1/2 frozen banana (peel, chop, and place in freezer the night before)

4 frozen strawberries

1 handful frozen blueberries

Any toppings of your choosing


Thaw acai packet and place in high-speed blender with your other frozen fruits. Feel free to customize the frozen fruits you use but I chose a classic combination of banana, strawberry, and blueberry. Add enough water to create a thick smoothie consistency and blend!


This is what your mixture should look like once it is all blended up.


Transfer to a bowl and add your desired toppings! Today I went with some chocolate sea salt granola, coconut chips, and chia seeds. Fresh fruit and peanut butter are also some great topping choices.


And there you have it: your very own acai bowl! Only this time, it's better, because you didn't have to pay twelve dollars for it.


I hope this inspires you to make some of your other favorite foods you never thought you could master at home, because chances are, you can do it!


Thanks for tuning in,

-m

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page