top of page
Search
Writer's picturethe veggie sisters

Baked Plantain "Buddha Bowl"

Today for lunch, I accidentally created my new favorite bowl recipe. I love making bowls for lunch or dinner because it both allows me to use up what I have around the house as well as pack in as much nutrition value as I desire that day. Bowls are so customizable! What made today's bowl variety so unique and delicious to me was the addition of sweet plantain! Until today, I've actually never cooked plantains myself. I didn't realize just how easy they were to make and how delicious they can be when you make them yourself! Without further ado, let me walk you through this super easy, delicious recipe.



Baked Plantain Buddha Bowl

Serves 1

Ingredients

  • 1 extra-ripe plantain

  • 1 tbsp oil of your choice (I used olive oil)

  • 1/3 cup quinoa

  • 2/3 cup vegetable stock

  • 1/2 an avocado

  • Salsa or other spicy sauce of your choice


Preheat your oven to 425° F. Peel plantain and slice into small coins-- around 1/2 an inch thick. Coat plantain slices in olive oil and place onto a small baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Once over is preheated, cook plantains for 15 minutes until caramelized.



While the plantain slices are baking, cook your quinoa. Combine quinoa and vegetable stock in a small saucepan over medium-high heat and let mixture come to a rolling boil. Once you have reached this point, lower heat to medium, cover saucepan, and let the excess liquid cook out of the quinoa (this took around 10 minutes for me).


While the plantains and quinoa are cooling, slice avocado and any other toppings you feel like adding-- like i said, these bowls are so customizable! The sauce I used was a coconut milk-based sriracha sauce from a cookbook I recently received, but feel free to use any sauce you have lying around.



And there you have it: a delicious, nutritious lunch that you cooked up in just around 20 minutes! I hope this recipe inspires you to branch out with your normal ingredients and get creative with your cooking! Food can be so fun!


Thanks for reading,


-m




15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page