top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturethe veggie sisters

Banana Pancakes

Updated: Aug 21, 2019

Hello veggie friends,


After taking a short hiatus, we are excited to get back to the blog! To start, I wanted to share a healthy banana pancake recipe with you all. I love breakfast food at all times of the day, especially pancakes and french toast. They are even better when topped with maple syrup, which I often pour on in excess. I decided I wanted to try and find a slightly healthier pancake, and I have been hearing a lot about the 2 ingredient banana pancakes over the last few years. So I decided to use this basic recipe and alter it to create pancakes that are tasty but are also pretty good for you.


When I researched the two ingredient banana pancakes online, I saw that many people commented that the pancakes were incredibly flimsy, while others said the pancakes just tasted like eggs. I tweaked the recipe to make the pancakes a little more substantial (although they are still flimsy), and I decided to create a topping for the pancakes that could combat the potentially eggy taste.


These pancakes were really good! If you are looking for traditional, fluffy pancakes, this is not the recipe for you. The pancakes were almost like the middle of a french toast bake, in that they were a bit eggy. However, the flaxseed meal seemed to make the pancakes hold their form a bit better. The blueberry topping was also super tasty, and helped me control how much syrup I was using.



There are a few tips that may help with the pancakes. Although the egg and banana mixture will be lumpy, try and mash the banana as best you can. This will make the pancakes more even. When pouring the pancakes into the pan, make the pancakes small. They will be easier to flip. When flipping the pancakes, I used a thin spatula, and tried to be careful to get the spatula under the whole pancake before flipping. The pancakes also cook very quickly, so make sure to keep an eye on them so they do not burn.



I hope you enjoy the recipe! Let us know what you think in the comments below!



Hope you enjoy this recipe!


-t

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page