top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturethe veggie sisters

Boston Food Delights

I just got back from a fabulous trip to Boston! My trip was packed visiting prestigious universities, exploring historical sites, and so much more. Although I could go on and on about all these things, I am here to tell you about the amazing food that I had on this trip. My boyfriend and I tried to go to all local restaurants that we could only visit in Boston instead of going to chain restaurants, and we are so glad that we did. We were able to try a variety of foods in restaurants that were really unique places with great menu options. They were also full of local residents, so we knew we found the good places. I attached the links to the restaurant websites if you want to check them out for yourself. Now, let me tell you about some of the great food that we had on our trip!


One of the first places we went is called Veggie Crust. We went here to split a pizza for a quick dinner. They had a lot of vegetarian and vegan options to choose from, and some really unique pizza toppings. We shared a broccoli spinach feta pizza, with some fresh herbs and mozzarella. It was a nice quick meal, and the veggies on the pizza made us feel healthy, even though it was still pizza. This was a good start to our trip!


There was one restaurant that I had been planning to go to for months before the trip: Blackbird Doughnuts. I saw this place in an article about the best doughnut shops, and after following them on Instagram, I knew I wanted to try it. I don't eat doughnuts very often, but there are a few kinds of doughnuts that are hard for me to resist. I really like doughnuts with filling, and I saw that Blackbird had a doughnut called the "Sticky Bun", a cross between a cinnamon roll and doughnut. It has a cinnamon sugar glaze on top with a cream cheese filling, and it was just as good as it sounds. Super messy, but so worth it! My boyfriend had a German chocolate cake doughnut, which was also good, but not as good as the sticky bun in my opinion. Too bad these can't be shipped back to Wisconsin!


When you're on vacation, it is perfectly acceptable to eat large amounts of dessert, and we did just that. One night we decided to go to Honeycomb Creamery for some ice cream, even though it was a pretty chilly day. When I saw the chalkboard sign that read "Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Cone", I knew I was among kindred spirits. My boyfriend got Thai Tea ice cream with pecans in a matcha waffle cone, which was a sight with its' multitude of colors. I went with the vegan horchata ice cream. I have never had vegan ice cream from a restaurant before, but this has definitely encouraged me to try more. The ice cream was much creamier than I expected, and was a great balance of sweet and cinnamon spice. I would 100% get this flavor again if I was to ever go back!




One day when we were going to grab lunch, we decided to look up nearby restaurants on Google, and one that popped up was GreCo, a Greek restaurant. We decided to go there as it was fairly close, and we are really glad we did. The restaurant was right on a street with a lot of stores and restaurants. It was busy, but despite the long line, we were able to order and get our food pretty quickly. Even if we would have had to wait a bit, the food was worth it. GreCo really let you customize your meal, and had plenty of options for vegetarians and omnivores alike. I got a pita with a veggie fritter, tzatziki sauce, tomato, onion and fries in it, and it was the best lunch we had during our trip. Every part of the pita was good, so altogether it was awesome. My boyfriend, who is not vegetarian, said that he would order both of our meals again. It was a great lunch stop!


The final restaurant we ate at in Boston was, again, a place for dessert. This time we went to Mr. Crepe, a shop that offered both sweet and savory crepe options. Although many of the crepes sounded good, we went with a classic flavor combination and split a fresh strawberries with Belgian chocolate crepe. It was ready super quickly, and the Belgian chocolate was delicious. The crepes were pretty big so splitting one for dessert was the perfect size!


This post is making me pretty hungry right now. The food was just one of the many fantastic parts of my trip. If anyone is looking for a fun getaway, I would recommend checking out all the wonderful activities, sights, and food that Boston has to offer!


Have a great weekend friends!


-t



11 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

תגובה אחת


Tristan Dooley
17 במאי 2019

Yum!!

לייק
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page