top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturethe veggie sisters

Cherry Almond Muffins

This morning I had a delicious homemade brunch, made even better by spending it with family. Now, this post is not about all the scrumptious food that I enjoyed earlier today, as I did not do any of the cooking (yay for sleeping in!). However, brunch made me think about some of my own similar recipes that I like to make. One thing I enjoyed this morning was muffins, and it reminded me of some muffins I made earlier in the week.


I really like baked goods, but I don't always want to eat such sugar-filled treats. Muffins are nice because they can be made pretty healthy, by cutting out extra sugar and adding in healthy components, like fruit. Muffins are also portable and don't need to be refrigerated or kept warm, so they can be eaten whenever and wherever. I usually make mini muffins if I make muffins so that you can just have one small muffin and not worry about leaving half a muffin crumbling into a mess for someone else. Or you can just eat a bunch of mini muffins and it doesn't matter because they are mini. Today I am sharing with you a recipe for cherry almond muffins that I made earlier this week.


Cherry Almond Muffins

Makes 24 mini muffins

Ingredients

  • 1 cup flour

  • 2 TBSP baking powder

  • 3 TBSP honey

  • 1/2 cup applesauce

  • 2 TBSP vegetable oil

  • 1 egg

  • 1/2 cup dried cherries

  • 1/4 cup sliced almonds

  • 1/2 tsp sea salt

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit. In a bowl, combine the egg, honey, applesauce and vegetable oil. Add the flour, salt and baking powder to the wet ingredients.


Chop the dried cherries and almonds into small pieces. Add to the muffin mix.

Grease a mini muffin tin. Pour batter, filling each tin about 2/3 of the way with muffin mix.

Bake for 10-12 minutes or until golden brown. These can be served with butter, jelly or honey.

There are some easy ways to mix up this recipe. You can exchange the dried cherries for dried cranberries, or can change the type of nut used. You can also add some chocolate chips in for a sweet twist. However you choose to make it, I hope you enjoy these sweet little treats.


Have a cherry good week,


-t


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page