top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturethe veggie sisters

Going Bananas (for banana bread)

Hello friends,


I hope everyone is having a great week. Where I am it has been cold so far, but it looks like it is going to warm up towards the end of the week, and for the holiday weekend! It will be nice to change into shorts to go outside instead of wearing pants and a jacket. One day when it was pretty cool out, I decided I wanted to do some baking. Chocolate dessert (or chocolate anything for that matter) is usually my go-to, but I decided I wanted to make something that wasn't all chocolate. There happened to be a lot of bananas in my house, so I decided to try making my own banana bread.


I have never really made banana bread before, but I figured I would try and create my own recipe. The bread turned out dense and moist (sorry for those who hate that word!), and it was a really great snack to eat. I did end up adding chocolate chips to the mix, but it was not overly chocolatey, and since the dessert was made with bananas, I felt slightly healthy eating it. This would also be good to bring to a brunch, or as a dessert for a get-together. However you choose to eat it, I hope you enjoy it!


Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

Ingredients

  • 4 ripe bananas

  • 2 eggs

  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce

  • 2 cups flour

  • 1 tsp baking powder

  • 1/2 cup brown sugar

  • 1 tsp vanilla

  • 1/3 cup chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees fahrenheit. Start by peeling and mashing the bananas in a bowl. This can be done with a fork, or you can break the banana in chunks and try to mash it using an electric mixer. Add the eggs, applesauce, brown sugar and vanilla to the bowl and mix thoroughly.


Add the flour to the mixture little by little until it is all combined. If the mixture is really dry, you can add up to two more TBSP of applesauce. This may be because the bananas you used were on the small side and did not add enough moisture to the mix. Stir in the chocolate chips. You can use whatever kind of chocolate chips you want, but I used dark chocolate chips. Pour the mixture into a greased 5 x 9 loaf pan.


Bake the bread for 45-55 minutes, until the top is golden brown and a toothpick comes clean out of the middle. If you want your banana bread to be thinner, you can use a larger pan, but then be sure to check the bread after a shorter amount of time so it doesn't get overdone. Take the banana bread out of the pan to cool.


The banana bread can then be sliced into and enjoyed! It is good both warm and at room temperature. I like to eat it with a generous spread of peanut butter on top. The bread can be stored at room temperature for about 3-4 days, or for a little longer if kept in the fridge.

I hope you enjoy this bread as much as I did! Baking may not be on your agenda as it starts to get warmer, but this would be a good recipe to save for the cooler months!


Have a terrific Tuesday,


-t


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page