top of page
Search
Writer's picturethe veggie sisters

Green, Red and White Pasta

Hi everyone,


I hope everyone had a great weekend! On the weekends I usually go food shopping for the following week, and because of this I try to plan out meals for the week. One fast, inexpensive meal to make is pasta; however, it can be boring to eat just plain tomato sauce over noodles. A few weeks ago, I decided to create a new pasta dish that didn't feature a tomato sauce. I wanted to include some fresh ingredients.


I decided to create an almost Caprese-like pasta dish. I did not have fresh basil, and as I am not a fan of dried basil, I decided to substitute in another delicious green item: avocado. The pasta I made would work great as a meal, or could be chilled and eaten as a side dish. I ate mine as a meal with some toasty French bread on the side. This meal is great for summer. I hope you can enjoy this meal like I did!


Green, Red and White Pasta

Serves 2

Ingredients

  • 1 small avocado

  • 15-20 Grape tomatoes

  • 3 oz fresh mozzarella

  • 8 oz pasta

  • 2 TBSP olive oil

  • 1 TBSP Balsamic vinegar

  • Pepper, to taste (about 1.5 tsp)

  • Basil, optional

Start by cooking the pasta. I cooked the pasta just past al-dente to keep the dish a less mushy. Next, combine the olive oil, Balsamic, and pepper in a dish. Put this off to the side.

Wash the tomatoes and cut in half. Dice the mozzarella and avocado into bite-size cubes.


Drain the pasta and let it cool slightly. Once it is slightly cool, toss in the tomatoes, avocado, and mozzarella. Drizzle over the balsamic dressing and toss. If you have fresh basil available, I would recommend chopping some up and mixing it in at the end.

The pasta can be served right away, or refrigerated until it's time to eat.

This would be a great meal on a busy night, a good cold lunch, or a great side to bring to your next get-together!


Have a wonderful week,


-t

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page