top of page
Search
Writer's picturethe veggie sisters

The One With the Tofu Scramble

If you saw my recent brunch post, you'd have a good idea on how strongly I feel about tofu scrambles. I can safely say they're my favorite breakfast; whether that's ordering them at a restaurant or making them myself at home. Over the past few months, I'd say that I've perfected my at-home tofu scramble, and I wanted to share this delight with you all today. This recipe is super simple and a great breakfast for those mornings when cereal or toast just won't cut it.



Ingredients (for 2 servings)

2 tbsp chopped onion

1 clove garlic, minced

1/2 block of tofu

3 tbsp nutritional yeast

2 tsp paprika

hot sauce, to taste (I use Cholula and a lot of it)

salt and pepper, to taste

handful of baby spinach


Start out by sautéing the chopped onion and garlic with a splash of olive oil in a small saucepan over medium heat.



Once translucent, turn the heat down to medium-low, and add the tofu, breaking it up with your choice of kitchen utensil, until the tofu is in small chunks (as pictured). You may need to add a bit more oil (or water) in order to keep the mixture from getting too dry.



Now for the most crucial part: seasonings! The mix of paprika, nutritional yeast, and hot sauce is really what gives this scramble its signature taste. Add these into your pan, as well as some salt and pepper to your liking.



Once everything is well combined and smelling delicious, toss in the baby spinach, mix it in, and let the leaves wilt. This shouldn't take long. After this, your tofu scramble is complete!



Just transfer to a plate or bowl and enjoy with some fresh fruit and a cup of coffee! Eating alongside the company of your favorite kitten is not required, but definitely recommended. ;)



This is Phoebe: my one and a half year old adopted daughter whom I love very much. She's always poking her head around the kitchen when we're cooking something up or eating a meal, but I don't mind because she is the cutest, tiniest kitchen guest a girl could ask for. If this one cat picture isn't enough to hold you over, don't worry, I can just about guarantee you'll be seeing a lot more of our Phoeb.


-m

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page