top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturethe veggie sisters

Trader Joe's Haul #1

Hey Hilary Swank from Million Dollar Baby (iykyk)!


I hope everyone is having a great weekend. I have had a good weekend so far, and it got even better when I went to Trader Joe's today! I love Trader Joe's, but I do not do all my grocery shopping there as it is a little far for me to go for just a couple items, and there are probably 20 stores closer that sell groceries. When I do go to Trader Joe's, I try to grab things I think I will want for the next week or two. I like to try the new products they have, while still grabbing a few of my favorite things.


One of the reasons both of us veggie sisters like Trader Joe's is that they have a lot of vegetarian and vegan-friendly options. We also love the frozen food section, with many offerings that are unique to Trader Joe's. If Trader Joe's has a downside, it is that sometimes it gets super crowded, which can make shopping overwhelming if you are just trying to browse and see what to get. Even when it is crowded, it is worth it to make the trip! I am going to share with you all some tried-and-true items that I picked up today. Let's start the haul!


One thing I grab almost every time I go to Trader Joe's is the White Cheddar Corn Puffs. These delicious morsels melt in your mouth, and if you don't pay attention you can have half the bag gone and not even realize it. These are good as a snack by themselves or next to a sandwich at lunch. We go through a bag of these pretty quickly in my house, so I often buy two bags. These Corn Puffs come in other flavors, but I always stick with this one.


While in the frozen section, I saw these Cauliflower and Broccoli Vegetable Patties, and tossed them in my cart. I have had these patties before and used them as veggie burgers, and I really liked them! I have not tried any other frozen veggie burgers from Trader Joe's, but I have had frozen veggie burger patties from other stores and did not like them. However, a few months ago I decided to try these, and I am very glad I did! Although veggie burgers do not take too long to make homemade, these cooked up in minutes on the stove. They got nice and crisp on the outside, without getting dry on the inside. I ate my patty on a toasted bun with avocado slices and spicy mayo, but you could also break the patties up and use them for other things, such as in a salad or stir fry. These are great to have on hand when you want a fast meal.


While still in the frozen section, I came across another one of my TJ favorites: Chicken-less Mandarin Orange Morsels. Although my sister already blogged about how we like to eat these chicken-less morsels, I decided that this haul post would not be complete without them. This is a another pretty easy meal that is very filling and doesn't require a ton of effort.


The Trader Joe's Dark Chocolate bars may have been a bit of an impulse buy, but I have gotten these multiple times before and knew they would be worth it! I really like chocolate, especially dark chocolate, but I do not always buy it, as many of the brands I like are expensive. However, these bars come in at $1.99 a piece, which is very reasonable in my eyes. A whole bar is usually 3 or 4 servings for me, so the chocolate lasts a few days. The candy bars are also available in milk chocolate, and some candy bars have fillings, such as hazelnut. I have only had the dark chocolate, but I am sure the others are good as well!


The last item of the haul I wanted to show you all (but not the last item I bought, because I bought a ton of stuff this trip) is the Dried Fruit Bars. This is kind of like fruit leather, if you have ever had that. Basically, it's a little tough, and almost like a gelatin texture. The bars are made with real fruit and come in many different flavors. They're a great snack as they can be tossed into a lunchbox/purse/bag/pocket and require no utensils. They are sweet, yet fairly healthy to eat: a great combo!


I hope you enjoyed hearing about some of the items I bought at Trader Joe's this week. If you have never tried these, I would recommend picking them up any (or all) of these items next time you are at Trader Joe's. If you have never been to Trader Joe's, find the store nearest you and head their ASAP! You will understand the obsession once you go!


Have a wonderful rest of your weekend,


-t

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page